Located 5 km to Brisbane’s west, at the base of Mt Cootha, Bardon (4065) was named after the home Joshua Jayes built in 1863, which in turn was named after a hill in England. The suburb was also the site of Rainworth a large homestead on acreage and home to Sir Augustus Gregory, Queensland’s Surveyor General. This land was subsequently sold for residential development in 1925 and is now dominated by large expensive traditional Federation style and Queenslander homes. Today Bardon is known for its hilly terrain including steep streets connecting with roads which follow ridge lines and is bisected by the Enoggera Creek.
Bardon is a busy vibrant suburb with several football clubs, an energetic community arts hub, four schools, a neighbourhood shopping centre, restaurants and comprehensive transport services namely; regular bus services to the city and surrounds,and a number of major arterial roads which link to north-south and western bypasses of Brisbane.
In 2011, 9300 people lived in Bardon, their average age being 36 years. Residents were mostly Anglo-Australian, speaking English exclusively at home.